Sound installation

July 2018

Pors Rand - Pleubian

sponsor: Cavan Sound Discovery Center

This sound shelter is a project carried by the Center de Découverte du Son. Several shelters thus restore the coastal heritage. This is intended to be a place for listening to SOUND LANDSCAPES or soundscape (Murray Schaffer, 1977).  This shelter is located on the edge of Pors Rand beach, in the town of L'armor Pleubian. It is oriented towards the Sillon de Talbert and its nature reserve, which we suspected the opening of a breach. The Sillon de Talbert is a 13km stretch of coastline formed of pebbles and sand that sinks into the sea. Indeed, the furrow was cut in two by erosion in 2019, following a strong winter storm. 
The shelter allows you to observe and hear the geomorphological and ethological changes that affect the furrow  as well as the basin which shelters it, property of the conservatory of the littoral. 
Ethnographic sound documents are distributed there. They were collected by ethnologist Guy Prigent, a specialist in the study of coastal heritage. The sculptural form is inspired by various naval archtecture techniques while the clew is amplified by the cone. The focal point is located on the Héaux lighthouse. The shape also forms an inverted beacon whose sound signal warns of pitfalls at night, a conche: the first musical or listening instrument

High seas video

46 anges de mer M. Queniecethnographie & collecte sonore G. Prigent
00:00

Sonic ethnographic document and testimony collected by ethnologist Guy Prigent, specialized in the study of coastal heritage. This excerpt is shown in the sound shelter, along with various other recordings collected on the site over the years.

Low water video

installation maree basse.jpg

 

This micro architecture can accommodate 4 seated people.

Its conical shape allows sound to be diffused towards the listener.

A device for listening to ethnographic sound documents on coastal uses around the Sillon de Talbert is also available.

The documents are broadcast via two speakers placed inside the shell.

The materials and construction techniques used are those which have marked naval architecture, solid wood, aluminum, marine plywood and bending of parts.

P1050261.JPG
INSTALLATION maree haute.jpg

Installation sonore 

Juillet 2018 

Pors Rand - Pleubian

commanditaire : Centre de découverte du son de Cavan 

Cet abri sonore est un projet porté par le centre de Découverte du Son. Plusieurs abris restituent ainsi les patrimoines littoraux. Celui-ci a pour vocation d’être un lieu d’écoute du PAYSAGE SONORE ou soundscape (Murray Schaffer, 1977).  Cet abri est situé au bord de la plage de Pors Rand, sur la commune de L’armor Pleubian. Il est orienté vers le Sillon de Talbert et sa réserve naturelle, dont nous suspections l’ouverture d’une brèche. Le Sillon de Talbert est un cordon littoral formé de galets et de sable de 13km qui s’enfonce dans la mer. En effet, le sillon a été coupé en deux par l’érosion en 2019, suite à une forte tempête hivernale. 
L’abri permet d’observer et d’entendre les changements géomorphologiques et ethologiques qui affectent le sillon  ainsi que le bassin qui l’abrite, propriété du conservatoire du littoral. 
Des documents ethnographiques sonores y sont diffusés. Ils ont été collectés par l’ethnologue Guy Prigent, spécialiste dans l’étude des Patrimoines littoraux. La forme sculpturale s’inspire de diverses techniques d’archtecture navale tandis que le point d’écoute est amplifiéepar le cône. La focale est situé sur le phare des Héaux. La forme également une balise renversée dont le signal sonore prévient des écueils la nuit, une conche : premier instrument de musique ou d’écoute

Video haute mer

46 anges de mer M. Queniecethnographie & collecte sonore G. Prigent
00:00

Document ethnographique sonore et témoignage collecté par l'ethnologue Guy Prigent, spécialisé dans l'étude des Patrimoines littoraux. Cet extrait est diffusé dans l'abri sonore, au même titre que divers autres enregistrements collectés sur le site au fil des années. 

Video basse mer

installation maree basse.jpg

 

Cette micro architecture peut accueillir 4 personnes assises. 

Sa forme conique permet une diffusion du son vers l'auditeur.

Un dispositif d'écoute de documents sonores ethnographiques sur les  usages littoraux autour du Sillon de Talbert est également mis à disposition.

Les documents sont diffusés via deux enceintes disposées l'intérieur de la conque.

Les matériaux et techniques constructives utilisées sont celles qui ont marqué l'architecture navale, bois massif, aluminium, contreplaqué marine et cintrage des pièces.

P1050261.JPG
INSTALLATION maree haute.jpg